PR Remix – The 12 Days of Christmas

christmas

Come on. How could I possibly pass up the chance to do a twist on a holiday classic for all my fellow PR friends? Hopefully you get a chuckle or, at least, a smile or two out of this.

PR Remix – The 12 Days of Christmas

On the first day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me a crisis at 7 p.m. on a Friday.

On the second day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me two embargoes broken.

On the third day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me three meetings by noon.

On the fourth day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me four four-hour conference calls.

On the fifth day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me five clients quoted out of context.

On the six day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me six new media lists needed.

On the seventh day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me seven interns who know everything.

On the eighth day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me eight “make a viral video” requests.

On the ninth day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me nine non-newsworthy “stories.”

On the tenth day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me ten 10 AP style edits.

On the eleventh day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me 11 holiday parties.

On the twelfth day of Christmas the PR gods gave to me 12 new product launches, 11 holiday parties, ten 10 AP style edits, nine non-newsworthy “stories,” eight “make a viral video” requests, seven interns who know everything, six new media lists needed, five clients quoted out of context, four four-hour conference calls, three meetings by noon, two embargoes broken and a crisis at 7 p.m. on a Friday.

Care to jump in and poke a little good-natured fun at the wonderful world of PR? What did I leave out that should have made the cut?

And, on a serious note, I hope your holidays are filled with family, friends, joy and peace.

*Image by Kris de Curtis.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my RSS feed, either by reader or by e-mail.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

9 responses to “PR Remix – The 12 Days of Christmas

  1. This is great! I LOVE 10 AP style edits!

  2. The AP style edits line is terrific. And nine non-newsworthy stories is a keeper too…

    What else might the PR Gods have given? How about a social media maelstrom a la Motrin or set off by a poorly conceived blog post. Like http://yglesias.thinkprogress.org/archives/2008/12/a_special_note_re_third_way.php.

  3. Too funny. My life seems to be full of the four-hour conference calls these days.
    You pretty much covered the causes behind most of my headaches and alcohol consumption, but I’d be tempted to add a client who wants to change strategies on a whim. Ergh.

  4. Love it. Nice change of course for the holidays 🙂

  5. @jen and @julie – glad you liked #10. I was pretty proud of that one, especially the strikethrough on “ten.”

    @Kristie – yeah, that’s a tough one. how do you ever create tactics that are on strategy if the strategy changes every time the wind blows?

    @sonny thanks. thought it would be a light-hearted twist.

  6. Well done David! I like it.

  7. LOVE IT! I’d add “6 proposals due by Friday” to your list 🙂

  8. Elizabeth McKinney

    So true . . .

    Happy holidays, all!

  9. @colleen – Love “six proposals due by Friday.” Why are they always due at the same time?

    @Elizabeth – happy holidays to you!

Leave a Reply

