Some Holiday Thoughts

happy-holidays

It’s almost 10 p.m. on Christmas Eve as I write this. Both my girls are in bed. My wife is in the living room with her parents, sister-in-law and her brother, who got back from his most recent tour in Iraq eight days ago – after 15 long months away from his wife and two kids.

I’m at our kitchen table downloading the video I shot tonight of our oldest girl as an angel in the Christmas build-a-pageant at our church. To be honest, she didn’t have to do much acting, since she actually is an angel. Well, I’m probably biased.

As I listened to them chatting in the other room while editing the video into a movie to share with friends whose children were also in the build-a-pageant, I wanted to take a minute to share some things with you, as well.

1. First, thank you. When I started this blog six months ago at the  encouragement of my friend Leo Bottary, I wondered who in the world would want to know what I think about the marketing/PR world. So I’ve been amazed by the incredible conversations that have taken off here. Yes, I’m thankful that you take time out of your busy days to read these posts and comment. But what amazes me is the amount of insight and wisdom you freely share with the rest of us in those comments.

2. I’ve  never felt more blessed in my life. Every single day, my wife and two girls say or do something that makes me feel like the luckiest man on the planet. I’m thankful for them and the amount of love, support and grace they give me. Why am I sharing that here? I don’t know. Sometimes I feel like I need to tell everyone within earshot something because my heart feels so full that it may burst if I don’t. Since it’s 10 p.m. at night, so my neighbors may get upset if I run outside and start shouting this loudly.

3. As I look forward to tomorrow morning and the wonderful chaos that awaits us, I find myself hoping that you, too, are surrounded by family and friends this holiday season. More than that, though, I hope that within that wonderful chaos, you take a moment to step back from the wrapping paper and presents to gaze at their smiling faces and know that the real gift is knowing that others in this world love you madly, despite your shortcomings.

4. Lastly, I want you to know that I hope 2009 has amazing things in store for you.

Feel free to share what you’re most excited about this week? It’s good to share the good things with others.

*Image by Chris Gin.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my RSS feed, either by reader or by e-mail.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

6 responses to “Some Holiday Thoughts

  1. David – it’s definitely been great getting to know you these past few months – all from a few emails!

    I miss the days of being a kid and running to the X-mas tree in excitement of the morning. Can’t wait to do the same for my own kids in the future and see the joy in their eyes.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  2. Even with the current economic challenges, I continue to be excited about the opportunities that await in 2009. Through tools like Twitter, FF, FB and my blog–www.communicationsconversations.blogspot.com–I’ve already connected with people I never would have before, built meaningful personal and business relationships and even secured a couple consulting engagements as a result. Yes, 2009 is shaping up to be a good year, indeed. Also, Dave, you can see how I’ve used my Flip on my family blog–www.hangingwithhansons.blogspot.com. Like I said, we use it a ton. Starting to use it for business apps now as well.

  3. @sonny – i was thinking about that last week. was reading your latest blog post and thought, if it weren’t for a couple emails, i wouldn’t know that guy. evidence of how social media connects.

    @arik – it’s all about the connections. i’ve been amazed by some of the connections i’ve made using tools like twitter, blogs, etc. i think it’s hard to understand the power of SM until you actively participate within the communities.

    i’ll check out the family blog to see how you’re using the Flip. we’ve had ours for two days now and LOVE it!

  4. David, I enjoyed reading how happy you are. Me too. Sometimes I pinch myself to see if I’m dreaming . . . there was a time in my life when I had given up hope, but was lucky to get a boost to turn things around . . . now here I am, crazy about my husband, with two spunky kids, and the chance to do something meaningful and connect with great people like you. Plus, I baked some really delicious cookies. What’s better than that? Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

    With regards to SM, I too am amazed . . . like a lot of people I thought it was a superficial waste of time until I made some connections on Facebook that are key to my biz. You have been a very positive influence in encouraging Best for Babes to go social! Thank you!

  5. @bettina – thanks for the kind words. hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday and new year’s.

    here’s to a great 2009. looking forward to working with you more!

  6. So happy for you fella, sounds like your life is just dandy and that’s definitely something to be treasured.

    Although a latecomer to your scene, I’m definitely enjoying what you’re saying and the conversations that ensure – long may they continue in 2009.

    I’m looking forward to the 12for12k Challenge next year – here’s hoping we can do some amazing things for so many worthy causes. 🙂

    Cheers, fella, good health to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

