The King of All Communicators

mlk

I’m still absolutely amazed at the profound, powerful prose penned by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. from the solitude of a jail cell in Birmingham, Alabama. Yes, I am as moved as the rest of us by his historic “I have a dream” speech, but the first time I read Letter from Birmingham Jail I was stopped in my tracks. As I lingered over each sentence in the nine-page open letter to eight Birmingham clergymen, I was saddened, inspired, convicted.

That letter is what stands out for me about Dr. King. What surprised me most about it is the fact that he wrote this letter from said jail cell. I couldn’t write something on this level even if given months to do so. And I’m a “professional” communicator.

Even though it was written in 1963 and focused specifically on the civil rights struggle going on in our nation at the time, this letter still is relevant today. King eloquently reminds us that silence in the face of injustice is as horrific as the injustice itself. I embarrassingly admit that too many times I sit idly by in the safety of my comfortable life and think nothing of the tragedies going on in my world.

I encourage you to take 20 minutes out of your day and read it. This letter and the truths contained within it will be good for your mind, heart and soul. After reading it, feel free to stop back by and leave a comment on your take of the letter.

What stands out most for you about Dr. King?

*Image from Africa Within.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my RSS feed, either by reader or by e-mail.


TweetIt from HubSpot

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

6 responses to “The King of All Communicators

  1. David ~ Thanks for sharing this today. It is a great reminder, especially on this day, of the importance of keeping other people’s lives in the forefront of your thoughts and actions.

  2. @sherry – thanks. i couldn’t agree more. i try to read Letter from Birmingham Jail once a year to remind myself of that.

  3. Thanks for sharing this letter, David. Tears swell in my eyes often at the sound of Dr. King’s voice. I think of him often, not just today. He’s an inspiration for everyone, and he’s be relevant and helpful forever. I’ll be reading this letter today.

  4. Perfect timing! I was just printing out “I have a dream” for my 10-year-old daughter to read. Thanks for pointing to this. I plan to read it today.

  5. “But I must confess that I am not afraid of the word ‘tension.’ I have earnestly opposed violent tension, but there is a type of constructive, nonviolent tension which is necessary for growth.”

    I love this idea of constructive conflict that is needed. It reminds me that just because people disagree doesn’t mean we are not friends.

    Thanks for sharing today.

  6. loved this post. it inspired me to write a whole blog on Dr. King and breastfeeding! Sounds odd, I know, but read it and you’ll see what I mean. http://www.bestforbabes.com/blog

Leave a Reply

